This show is available for online listening at drdemento.com

Dr. Demento's Shot of the Day

In a similar vein to Dr. Demento's Daily Dose Of Dementia from nearly a decade earlier, 2001 brought us another daily single-track program. It was marketed to stations that did not carry the regular weekly two-hour show, although those who did were welcome to air this as well.

Two weeks' worth of Shot of the Day shows were sent at a time on a single CD. In addition to those 10 G or PG-rated episodes, 4 alternate Shots were included that were slightly edgier material. These could be substituted for any of the 10 shows in that series, provided the correct commercials for the day were inserted.

Following is a list of the first three months of episodes, which will later be expanded to include all episodes.

01-32/33

Monday, August 6, 2001
A Trip To Jurassic Park '01 - Whimsical Will
Tuesday, August 7, 2001
Delicious! - Jim Backus & Friend
Wednesday, August 8, 2001
Gilligan's Island (Stairway) - Little Roger & The Goosebumps
Thursday, August 9, 2001
S.S. Minnow - Mike Toomey
Friday, August 10, 2001
In The Mood - Henhouse Five Plus Too
Monday, August 13, 2001
Spam - Monty Python
Tuesday, August 14, 2001
Shaddap You Face - Joe Dolce
Wednesday, August 15, 2001
Save The Beer - Faust & Lewis
Thursday, August 16, 2001
Reggae Popeye - Mark McCollum
Friday, August 17, 2001
The Scotsman - Bryan Bowers
alternate Shot #1
Teenage Lobotomy - Ramones
alternate Shot #2
Suicide Hotline - Mr. X's Briefcase
alternate Shot #3
First House - Tom Tuerff
alternate Shot #4
Bicycle Seat - Max Splodge

01-34/35

Monday, August 20, 2001
King Tut - Steve Martin & The Toot Uncommons
Tuesday, August 21, 2001
I Love Onions - Susan Christie
Wednesday, August 22, 2001
Oui! It's So Humid - 2 Live Jews
Thursday, August 23, 2001
It's Still Billy Joel To Me (live) - "Weird Al" Yankovic
Friday, August 24, 2001
Fast Food - Stevens & Grdnic [shown on playlist as Bryan Bowers]
Monday, August 27, 2001
I'm The Slime - Frank Zappa
Tuesday, August 28, 2001
All My Favorite Drunks Have Given Up Drinkin' - Cole Slaw & The Baked Bean Band
Wednesday, August 29, 2001
Baby Sittin' Boogie - Buzz Clifford
Thursday, August 30, 2001
Drivin' - Henry Phillips
Friday, August 31, 2001
Happy Boy - The Beat Farmers
alternate Shot #1
IWIWAL - Loudon Wainwright III
alternate Shot #2
Intergalactic Laxative - Donovan
alternate Shot #3
Guerilla Radio - Richard Cheese
alternate Shot #4
Big Ten-Inch Record - Moose Jackson

01-36/37

Monday, September 3, 2001
Fat Man's Prayer - Victor Buono
Tuesday, September 4, 2001
The Cockroach That Ate Cincinnati - Rose & The Arrangement
Wednesday, September 5, 2001
Who Is It? - Carlton The Doorman (Lorenzo Music)
Thursday, September 6, 2001
Be Prepared (live) - Tom Lehrer
Friday, September 7, 2001
Troglodyte (Cave Man) - The Jimmy Castor Bunch
Monday, September 10, 2001
Car Phone - Sheeler & Sheeler
Tuesday, September 11, 2001
The Crusher - The Novas
Wednesday, September 12, 2001
Grandma Vs. The Crusher - Reverend Billy C. Wirtz
Thursday, September 13, 2001
A Little More Gauze - Mike Nichols & Elaine May
Friday, September 14, 2001
Toast (Live) - Heywood Banks
alternate Shot #1
Charliesomething - Eric Schwartz
alternate Shot #2
Circular Impression - The Extras
alternate Shot #3
As Bad As This (excerpt with "Plexiglas Toilet") - Styx
alternate Shot #4
Little Jugs Need Lovin' Too - The Dan Orr Project

01-38/39

Monday, September 17, 2001
Bulbous Bouffant - Radio Free Vestibule
Tuesday, September 18, 2001
Eskimo - Corky & The Juice Pigs
Wednesday, September 19, 2001
Fly On A Plane - Christine Lavin
Thursday, September 20, 2001
I'm Not Home Right Now - Cheech & Chong
Friday, September 21, 2001
'Cause I'm A Blonde - Julie Brown
Monday, September 24, 2001
Waking Up Is Hard To Do - Sneaky Pete
Tuesday, September 25, 2001
Political Science - Randy Newman
Wednesday, September 26, 2001
Wildwood Weed - Jim Stafford
Thursday, September 27, 2001
That's My Boy - Stan Freberg
Friday, September 28, 2001
Lakeside Trailer Park - Country Dick Montana (of The Beat Farmers)
alternate Shot #1
She's A Guy - Lord of the Pants
alternate Shot #2
Oops, I Farted Again - The gang at Zthing.com
alternate Shot #3
Puking In A Naked Girl's Bed - Stuart McNair
alternate Shot #4
Let Me Make You Smile In Bed - The Four Postmen

01-40/41

Monday, October 1, 2001
Telephone Man - Meri Wilson
Tuesday, October 2, 2001
What If Your Girlfriend Was Gone - Carla Ulbrich
Wednesday, October 3, 2001
The Horrible Movie Song - The Four Postmen
Thursday, October 4, 2001
Whole Lotta Love - Temple City Kazoo Orchestra
Friday, October 5, 2001
Eat It - "Weird Al" Yankovic
Monday, October 8, 2001
Mississippi Squirrel Revival - Ray Stevens
Tuesday, October 9, 2001
Dead Skunk - Loudon Wainwright III
Wednesday, October 10, 2001
Chucky Cheese Hell - Tim Wilson
Thursday, October 11, 2001
I'm Normal - The Emperor
Friday, October 12, 2001
Junk Food Junkie - Larry Groce
alternate Shot #1
What I Like About Booze - DisTurbo
alternate Shot #2
Fight For Your Right To Plunder - Scurvy Pirates
alternate Shot #3
Last Resort - Richard Cheese
alternate Shot #4
Sex 'N' Violence - Dan Hart

01-42/43

Monday, October 15, 2001
Bald Guys - Faust & Lewis
Tuesday, October 16, 2001
Smoker's March - Richie Phillips
Wednesday, October 17, 2001
Dinner With Drac (Part 1) - John Zacherle "The Cool Ghoul"
Thursday, October 18, 2001
Carmen Miranda's Ghost - Leslie Fish
Friday, October 19, 2001
The Purple People Eater - Sheb Wooley
Monday, October 22, 2001
Comin' Back For More - C.W. McCall
Tuesday, October 23, 2001
I Put A Spell On You - Screamin' Jay Hawkins
Wednesday, October 24, 2001
Halloween - Heywood Banks
Thursday, October 25, 2001
Haunted House - Jumpin' Gene Simmons
Friday, October 26, 2001
Werewolves Of London - Warren Zevon
alternate Shot #1
Hometown Zoo - John Saylor
alternate Shot #2
Desperado - The Langley Schools Music Project f/ Sheila Behman
alternate Shot #3
Goblin Girl - Frank Zappa
alternate Shot #4
With Her Head Tucked Underneath Her Arm - Caryl P. Weiss

Back to the official Dr. Demento playlist archive